← Blog·Life Stage Nutrition

WSAVA-Approved Puppy Food: The Brands That Qualify (2026)

October 7, 2026 · 10 min read

Updated October 8, 2026
A large-breed puppy sitting beside a measured bowl of puppy kibble on a kitchen floor, illustrating choosing a WSAVA-compliant growth food.

Short answer: the manufacturers that meet at least four of WSAVA's five manufacturer-quality questions and make puppy food are Purina ONE, Purina Pro Plan and Hill's Science Diet (5 of 5), and Iams, Eukanuba and Royal Canin (4 of 5). Pedigree and Nutro also meet four of five under the same rule. We did not check their puppy labels, so they carry no pick below. The 4-of-5 brands miss on feeding trials, because the adult labels or FAQs we checked say "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles. Pro Plan, Hill's, Iams, Eukanuba and Royal Canin each make a standard puppy formula and a large-breed one, compared below. Purina ONE, from the same company as Pro Plan and cheaper, has no row in the table because we did not check its puppy labels.

WSAVA itself approves no food, puppy or adult. The phrase "WSAVA-approved" is shorthand for a manufacturer that answers WSAVA's five questions well: a full-time qualified nutritionist, a credentialed formulator, AAFCO feeding trials, owned plants, and documented quality control. Our WSAVA brand scores cover how each brand we track answers them. This post applies those scores to puppies.


Why the manufacturer matters more for a puppy

An adult dog on a slightly unbalanced diet usually has time to show it, and you have time to fix it. A puppy does not. Growth is when nutrient errors do lasting damage, and the clearest example is calcium in large-breed puppies. Too much, or too many calories pushing growth too fast, raises the risk of hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, and osteochondrosis. A skeleton that grew wrong stays wrong.

That is why the feeding-trial question carries extra weight here. A growth feeding trial tests the food on actual growing puppies. "Formulated to meet" means the recipe hit AAFCO's numbers on paper. Both are legal. Only one has been fed to puppies before it was fed to yours. Our scores come from each maker's flagship adult label, so read the AAFCO statement on the puppy bag you plan to buy.


First question: does your puppy need large-breed food?

Go by expected adult weight, not current size:

Expected adult weightWhat to feedSwitch to adult food at
Under 20 lbStandard puppy food9 to 12 months
20 to 50 lbStandard puppy food12 to 14 months
50 to 90 lbLarge-breed puppy foodAbout 18 months
Over 90 lbLarge-breed puppy food18 to 24 months

AAFCO caps calcium at 1.8% of dry matter for puppies expected to reach 70 lb or more, a stricter limit than for smaller breeds. Large-breed puppy formulas are built under that cap and are usually lower in calories per cup too. If you are unsure of adult size, your vet can estimate it from breed, parents, and growth so far. Our puppy feeding chart has portion amounts for each band.


Large-breed puppy picks, 5-of-5 makers first

All five formulas below come from manufacturers that meet at least four of WSAVA's five questions. Pro Plan and Hill's meet all five, and the manufacturers behind Iams, Eukanuba, and Royal Canin meet four. Purina ONE also meets all five, and its note follows the table. The foods differ on calorie density, how much calcium they disclose, and price.

FoodMaker's WSAVA scorekcal per cupCalcium on the labelPrice
Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy Chicken & Rice5 of 54191.1% minimum$$
Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Brown Rice5 of 53911.13% typical$$
Iams Proactive Health Large Breed Puppy4 of 53781.10% minimum$
Eukanuba Large Breed Puppy4 of 5351Not stated$$
Royal Canin Large Puppy4 of 5352Not stated$$$

Calories and calcium come from each product's published label, checked October 2026. Price tiers follow our brand data for feeding a 50 lb dog: $ is roughly $25 to $45 a month, $$ is $40 to $85, and $$$ runs up to $110. Formulas change, so confirm against the bag you buy.

Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy is the most calorie-dense of the five at 419 kcal per cup, with 28% protein and 13% fat minimums. That density means smaller portions, which suits a puppy with a big appetite and a small stomach. It also means a measuring mistake costs more calories.

Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed is the most transparent on calcium. Hill's publishes typical nutrient values, not only the legal minimums, so you can see that calcium sits around 1.13% as fed, inside AAFCO's large-breed range once converted to dry matter.

Purina ONE meets all five and costs less than Pro Plan for an adult dog, about $30-35 a month against $40-75. We did not check its puppy labels, so it has no row above. If you are considering its large-breed puppy formula, read the AAFCO statement on the bag and compare its calories and calcium with the table.

Iams Proactive Health Large Breed Puppy is the budget answer among the five. It is made by Mars, the same company behind Royal Canin and Eukanuba, and it includes DHA and guarantees a calcium minimum. Iams's maker meets 4 of WSAVA's 5 questions. If cost is the deciding factor, see the Purina ONE note above.

Eukanuba Large Breed Puppy and Royal Canin Large Puppy are the two lowest in calories, at about 350 kcal per cup. A puppy needs more volume of either to get the same energy, which some owners like because the bowl looks fuller. Neither lists calcium on the guaranteed analysis, so ask the company for the typical value if you want it.


The calcium number on the bag, and what it leaves out

Look closely at the calcium column. Two of the five list a minimum, one lists a typical value, and two list nothing. None of them shows a maximum, and the maximum is what protects a large-breed puppy.

A label only has to guarantee that calcium is at least a certain level. A food guaranteeing "1.1% minimum" could legally contain more, up to AAFCO's 1.8% dry-matter cap. To compare properly, convert to dry matter: divide the label percentage by the food's dry-matter fraction. Pro Plan's 1.1% minimum, at its listed 12% moisture, works out to about 1.25% of dry matter.

The practical takeaway is simple. A food labeled for the growth of large dogs has to stay under the cap, and these five manufacturers have the nutritionists and testing to make sure it does. The danger comes from what owners add: never give a calcium supplement to a puppy on a complete and balanced food.


Calories per cup vary by 20%

The five foods above range from 351 to 419 kcal per cup. Switch cup for cup from Eukanuba to Pro Plan and your puppy eats 19% more calories without anyone noticing. In a large-breed puppy, that is exactly the fast-growth problem large-breed formulas exist to prevent.

Whenever you change food, recalculate the portion. The dog calorie calculator gives a daily target, and the portion converter turns it into cups or grams of your specific bag. Weigh the food if you can.


Small and medium puppies

For puppies headed under 50 lb, the same five brands make standard puppy formulas: Purina Pro Plan Puppy Chicken & Rice, Hill's Science Diet Puppy, Iams Proactive Health Smart Puppy, Royal Canin Small Puppy and Medium Puppy, and Eukanuba's small and medium breed puppy foods. Small-breed versions use smaller kibble and more calories per cup, because toy breeds burn energy fast and have tiny stomachs.

The WSAVA logic is the same at every size. What changes is the calcium cap, which matters most for the big dogs.


What about "all life stages" food?

An "all life stages" food meets AAFCO's growth profile, so it can feed a puppy. For a large-breed puppy, read the label's full AAFCO statement. It should say the food is complete and balanced for growth "including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult)". If that phrase is missing, the food was not formulated under the large-breed calcium cap, and a large-breed puppy should eat something else.


The bottom line

For a puppy food from a maker with a strong WSAVA record, start with Purina ONE, Purina Pro Plan or Hill's (all 5 of 5), or Iams, Eukanuba, or Royal Canin (4 of 5), and choose the large-breed version if your puppy will pass about 50 lb. Iams is the budget pick, Pro Plan the most calorie-dense, Hill's the most open about calcium, and Royal Canin and Eukanuba the lightest per cup. Then feed by calories, add no calcium, and switch to adult food on the schedule above.

Get a growth plan matched to your puppy; free, 60 seconds →

FAQ

Quick answers sourced from veterinary literature

These mirror the medically reviewed IntelliBowl notes on this slug and exist to help crawlers summarize quotable excerpts.

Is there a list of WSAVA-approved puppy foods?

No. WSAVA does not approve or certify any food, adult or puppy. What it publishes is a set of five questions for evaluating manufacturers. The brands that meet all five and make puppy food are Purina ONE, Purina Pro Plan and Hill's Science Diet. Iams, Eukanuba, and Royal Canin make puppy food too and meet four of five.

What is the best WSAVA puppy food for a large breed?

Any of these large-breed puppy formulas from makers that meet at least four of five questions: Iams Proactive Health Large Breed Puppy, Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy, Hill's Science Diet Puppy Large Breed, Eukanuba Large Breed Puppy, or Royal Canin Large Puppy. They differ mainly in calories per cup, from about 350 to 419, and in how much calcium information they publish. Pick on budget and your puppy's appetite, then feed to a calculated calorie target.

Does my puppy need large-breed puppy food?

If your puppy is expected to weigh more than about 50 lb as an adult, yes. Large-breed puppy formulas keep calcium under AAFCO's 1.8% dry-matter cap for large dogs and are usually lower in calories, both of which slow growth to a rate developing joints can handle. Smaller puppies do well on standard puppy food.

When should I switch my puppy to adult food?

It depends on adult size. Small dogs under 20 lb can switch at 9 to 12 months, medium dogs at 12 to 14 months, large dogs around 18 months, and giant breeds between 18 and 24 months. Switching a large-breed puppy too early removes growth support it still needs. Change over gradually across 10 to 14 days.

Can a large-breed puppy eat all life stages dog food?

Only if the label's AAFCO statement says the food is complete and balanced for growth including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult). Without that phrase, the food may contain more calcium than a large-breed puppy should have. If in doubt, choose a dedicated large-breed puppy formula.

Should I give my large-breed puppy a calcium supplement?

No. A complete and balanced puppy food already provides the calcium a puppy needs, and large-breed puppies cannot regulate how much calcium they absorb the way adult dogs can. Extra calcium raises the risk of developmental orthopedic disease such as osteochondrosis and dysplasia.